Adeje is a reference for junior football

The 28th youth tournament is taking place on August 20th and 21st in the Adeje Municipal football stadium

25 july 2022
This morning at a press conference in Nexsport Club in Adeje details of the 28th Adeje Football tournament were announced. It is taking place on August 20th and 21st and cements Adeje’s role as a training ground for young players at all levels.
“We are really delighted to announce the return of the tournament following the two years of the pandemic, and we are looking forward to welcoming all the teams from the Canarias and the rest of Spain,” said Adeje sports councillor Adolfo Alonso Ferrera. 
This year both CD Tenerife and UD Las Palma are taking part and leading groups along with the Tenerife Sur selection,  and youth teams from Rayo Vallecano and Real Madrid CF, the latter having won this tournament on many occasions. There will also be a side from CD Mensajero, from La Palma. 
Alfonso Fernández, vice president of the Tenerife football federation was also at the press conference.   He said, “We are working really hard on improvements, the Adeje tournament has become an important part of the year, one of the best nationally”.
The insular director of the Cabildo sports department, Ángel Pérez, also underlined the importance of the tournament, “a reference point in the world of sport”, recognising too the important links between sport and tourism. 
As in past year the price to go to see the teams play in the tournament is extremely low. A ticket for the full two days of play is €5, or €3 for one day, and all under 16s are free. Tickets can be purchased at the Adeje Municipal football stadium.

The Matches
Imar Bello Delgado and Diego Hernández Cruz, both junior players drew the team names for each group.  Goup A is headed up by UD Las Palmas, Group B by CD Tenerife.  
Group A, U.D. Las Palmas, Tenerife Sur selection, and C.D. Mensajero, will play their round of matches on the morning of August 20th.
Group B, C.D. Tenerife, Real Madrid y Rayo Vallecano, will play their round of matches on the afternoon of August 20th. 
The semi-finals and finals will be played on August 21st.